We are all Astronauts

Universe Richard Buckmeister

Private View
10.06. 7:30 p.m. -9:30 p.m.
Marta Herford
Beat Zoderer
Join event on Facebook
Leading contemporary artists including such names as Documenta-contributor
Ai Weiwei, Olafur Eliasson and Tomas Saraceno, reflect one of the 20th century’s key figures.
Inspired by the richly multi-faceted work of Richard Buckminster Fuller, the exhibition
presents a huge span of creative work ranging from fantastic cars, moving machines and
floating architecture to poetic drawings, elegant domes and daringly adventurous designs.
The great visionary Richard Buckminster Fuller took curiosity about the world, readiness to
experiment and intuition as the three main principles nourishing his work. Throughout his whole
life he was in close contact with creative minds of all kinds. His particular way of fusing precision of
thought with a spontaneous and playfully experimental approach to yield an all-round view of the
universe has proven a source of fascination to many artists – and particularly to those working in
the early 21st century. The exhibition at Marta Herford illuminates this interest in the spectacular
ideas and visions of the early 1960s with a range of intriguing works from 22 internationally
famous artists. They elaborate on Fuller’s geometric inventions, develop his social utopias, give
critical reviews of his innovations and infuse their work with the same humour and playful
inventiveness that was one of the master’s own hallmarks.
“These (Buckminster Fuller‘s) floating structures can only remain in the air because of the constant
maintenance of conditions on their inside – including rigid control of weight, metabolism and
reproductive limits. (….): Individual bodies have ceased to exist here. (….) The utopian moment of
the American dream in its ultimate realisation is thus revealed in the senseless, colourless fiction of
the floating city.” Tobias Putrih
A catalogue with colour illustrations of all exhibits will be available at the beginning of the
Attila Csörg?, Björn Dahlem, José Dávila, Simon Dybbroe Møller, Michel François, Franka
Hörnschemeyer, Lucas Lenglet, David Maljkovic, Hermann Maier Neustadt, N55, Olafur
Eliasson, Riccardo Previdi, Tobias Putrih, Pedro Reyes, Silke Riechert, Tomás Saraceno,
Albrecht Schäfer, Kai Schiemenz, Kerstin Stoll, Ai Weiwei, Tilman Wendland, Beat Zoderer.